4th of July, Part 2 – Gingham Girl

In my last post, I chronicled the misadventures of the making of Kiki’s 4th of July outfit.  Now that I’ve recovered from telling that sordid tale, it’s Lulu’s turn.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids

You may recognize her dress as a dead ringer for the one on the cover of Happy Homemade: Sew Chic Kids, my new favorite Japanese sewing book.  Not too creative, I know.  But, I saw that dress, loved it, and made one just like it.  I couldn’t think of a way to improve it.  And what can I say — it’s perfect for the 4th of July, don’t you think?

Happy Homemade

This “Dress with Square Neckline/Dress b” was very smooth sewing, and it has me ready to continue to give into my kind of freakish Japanese pattern book sewing obsession.  I really love the classic simplicity of all of these designs.

I was a little surprised that the back bodice piece sits much higher than the front piece — I thought I had screwed it up when I first put the bodice pieces together.  But now I see it’s a design element that adds to the flowy-ness of the dress.  So it’s all good.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids

It’s a size 2, in Riley Blake Medium Gingham.  It’s roomy, so she’ll be able to wear it for a while.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic KidsThe only change I made was to use red hair elastics for the button loops instead of making them out of fabric.  This is a little trick I learned from Toni of Make it Perfect, when I made her Sprout Dress for Kiki last winter.  I do not love sewing little fabric loops, and these elastic loops go on and off so much more easily.  And, I always seem to have one in the right color laying around the house without having to plan ahead.

The only thing to be aware of when going the elastic hair tie route is to be sure you’ve sewn through the elastic on both ends of the loop, since the elastic is pretty narrow.  Just to be safe, I sewed over them a few times on the outside of the bodice with a really narrow stitch to be sure they stay put.  I don’t think it shows too much, do you?

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids

As you can see, this dress is great for twirling and Vogueing — two necessities for any 2 year old’s wardrobe.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids

It even comes out looking great after a good dousing with the sprinkler.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids

Happy 4th of July!

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. Such a lovely gingham! I love all the things you’ve made – following you through Bloglovin’ and looking forward to see what other Japanese patterns you sew up 🙂

Leave a Reply

