KCW: A Peppa Pig Dress!

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

If there are two things my girls love, they are (a) Dressing up and (b) Peppa Pig.  Lulu needs to change costumes every hour or so, and is always asking for new dress up clothes.  One request she has made repeatedly for a long time is to have a “sparkly dress just like Mummy Pig.”

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

Do you remember this episode?  It’s Mummy Pig’s birthday, and she does have a truly fabulous dress.  It sparkles in such a hilarious cartoony way.  It’s no mystery why Lulu needs one of these.

I picked up some random sparkly pink fabric some time ago to make my daughter’s dream come true, but never got around to it for some reason.  Bad mom.  I know.

But then, Kids Clothes Week comes around again, and the theme is Wild Things.  Animal inspired clothes?  Oh yes . . . this is the moment.  It’s as if the sewing gods heard Lulu’s cries for this dress and delivered an unmistakable sign to me to get off my duff and make it happen.

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

So, where’s a mom to start?  This is clearly a job for Made by Rae’s Flashback Skinny Tee. I’ve made a couple dress versions of this pattern and it hasn’t failed me yet, so it seemed like a no brainer.

I dug the sparkly pink out of my fabric stash and was surprised to find that it’s quite sheer.  Hmm.  Needs a lining.  And, it’s not all that stretchy.  How shall I handle the neck band??

I grabbed some thick and spandex-y tan knit I got from Girl Charlee a while back.  I cut front and back pieces from both fabrics and started thinking about how to put this thing together.

I decided to forgo the neckband all together and just sew the neckline with the main fabric and lining right sides together with a zigzag.  I also used stretch thread in both the needle and the bobbin.  As I was stitching around the neck, I started worrying that it wouldn’t be stretchy enough and that Lulu would have a hard time getting it over her head.  So, I took a detour and sewed a little slit in the center back.

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

This seemed the perfect opportunity to use that daisy button that’s been waiting in the button drawer for just the right dress.

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

(Is it me, or does Lulu look like teenager in this photo??  How does that happen?)

Anyway, when it was time to finish the armholes, I decided to use Rachael‘s trick from the Bess Top pattern.  She has you use strips of jersey knit instead of bias tape.  This is such a great way to do it — the knit is way easier to maneuver around the curves.  You don’t even need to press the strips before you sew.  Just line up the raw edges on the outside of the sleeve, sew around the arm hole, overlapping the ends of the strip about half an inch.  Then flip it to the inside and sew.  You can even leave the raw edge of the knit hanging out since it won’t fray!  Hurrah!

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

In the end, I decided not to hem this dress at all.  I was afraid that the sparkly pink would melt if I got it near the iron.  So, I cut the lining to be about 1 inch shorter than the main fabric, and left it at that.

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

Can you guess what Lulu said as soon as she put this dress on for the first time?  “But Mom, what about the sparkly shoes???  Will you make some for me?  Now???”

Peppa Pig Dress, Flashback Skinny Tee Dress, Made By Rae

2 responses

Leave a Reply

