A Feline Ileana

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyI bought this completely awesome kitty fabric almost two years ago and have been waiting for just the right project for it.  Well, the day finally came . . . and here it is as an Ileana Dress (from Compagnie M)!

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyThis is my second of three Ileana creations for Lulu — the child who will wear only circle skirts.  Her skirt requirement is a little limiting, but I can think of worse things.

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyI’ve already declared my love for this pattern here, but it bears repeating.  This pattern is wonderful and has so many options that it can be made into many very different dresses.

For this version, I chose the bow collar.  Isn’t it chic?

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyThe other options I picked are the capped sleeves, full circle skirt (of course) and the tear drop pockets.

Um, Mom, did you say pockets?

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyWhy, yes I did!

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyAs I mentioned before, these pockets are extremely simple to make and look darn fabulous.  As I did in my first Ileana, I stitched the entire edge of the pocket onto the front of the skirt so that it won’t flop around while twirling.

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyWhen searching my stash for contrast fabric, I happened to find an old duvet cover stuck in there in the perfect shade of lilac.  It was a pretty nice duvet cover with a high thread count, so this dress now has a luxuriously soft lining and collar 🙂  And there’s plenty of fabric leftover for several other projects.  Huzzah!

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyI finally realized that I have an invisible zipper foot.  I found it in the bag with all the other feet I got when I bought my new sewing machine over a year ago — haha!  It makes a real difference.  But one thing I had to learn the hard way is that while the invisible zipper foot is perfect for sewing the zipper tape very close to the main fabric, it’s better to use a regular zipper foot when you sew the zipper into the lining.  If you use the invisible zipper foot for both the main and lining fabric, the zipper gets sewn in too tight and you won’t be able to move it up and down.  Ugh.  It’s a fixable problem, but unpicking a zipper is a pain!

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyLulu is having a blast wearing this dress all around town.

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly HappyIsn’t it nice when your kid loves her new dress as much as you do?

Compagnie M Ileana Dress Lizzy House Catnap Purrfectly Happy

7 responses

  1. Pingback: A Lotta/Ileana Mashup « Rosemary Mornings

Leave a Reply

