Two Small World Pinafores

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy Oh My Darlin Clementine City StreetsFall sewing for Kiki is still happening around here, and she now has two more new dresses for kindergarten.  These are both the “Pinafore r” pattern from the Japanese sewing book Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids, and they’re both made in Small World Corduroy from Made by Rae.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy City StreetsI’d been waiting for fall to get my hands on this awesome fabric since it came out last spring, and I just couldn’t do without both the City Streets and Oh My Darlin Clementine prints.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy Oh My Darlin ClementineI can’t decide which fabric I love more.  I mean, who doesn’t love these clementines in two shade of orange — which is perfect for the redheads among us.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy City StreetsAnd the buildings on City Streets with their bold primary colors look like a box of crayons, which couldn’t be more perfect for kindergarten.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy Oh My Darlin ClementineAnyway, this is my first time making this pattern (although I have made tons of other things from this amazing book), and it’s pretty great.  I was inspired to give it a try after seeing this gorgeous version in corduroy from Behind the Hedgerow.  Laura has such an amazing sense of style, and I couldn’t help but follow her lead on this one.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy City StreetsThe sewing is pretty straightforward, especially if you’ve sewn projects from this book before, and both pinafores came together pretty quickly.

For Kiki, I sewed up a size 4 with 2 inches of added length.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy Oh My Darlin ClementineI did learn a couple of things after finishing the first one, which happened to be the clementine version.  (You may notice that we went from summer to fall between these two photo shoots!!)  I was so excited to see this clementine pinafore on Kiki as soon as it came off the machine — but when she put it on, it just didn’t look right.  The front yoke and straps seemed very floppy and gapey, and the fit looked totally off.  Crap!

I took a long look at the problem, and it occurred to me that a little interfacing just might do the trick.  I had enough fabric leftover to cut a new front yoke, and I ironed the interfacing onto the front piece.  The difference was so huge, that I decided to go ahead and redo the back yoke and straps, adding interfacing to those as well.  Magically, the fit was just right 🙂

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy Oh My Darlin ClementineIf you’re thinking of sewing up one of these pinafores, I highly recommend adding in that interfacing to the front yoke and the back yoke & straps.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy City StreetsThe other thing that I did the second time around was to add side seam pockets.  I grabbed the pocket pattern pieces from the Oliver+S Playtime Dress that was on my cutting table and stuck them in, no problem.  I stitched the entire edge of the pocket bag onto the front of the dress, as I’ve done before — and Kiki approves.

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy City StreetsAs you can see, this pinafore is great for layering and transitioning from summer to fall (or winter to spring, I presume).

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy Oh My Darlin ClementineHappy sewing!

Happy Homemade Sew Chic Kids Pinafore r Small World Corduroy City Streets

One response

Leave a Reply

