Beatrix X 2

Despite the absence of grown-up sewing on this blog for a long while, I have been sewing for myself quite a bit over the past few months.  But somehow, asking my (very obliging) husband to take photos of me and then posting them on the internet is not always on the top of my list of favorite things to do, so I’ve been holding out.

Now, it’s time to come clean and show you what I’ve been up to.

Made By Rae, Beatrix TopHere are two versions of the Beatrix Top from Made By Rae, which came out this past summer.

My fabrics are Aloe Vera Voile in lime from Anna Maria Horner and gorgeous Nani Iro double gauze.

Made By Rae, Beatrix TopI think this is a great pattern — very similar to the Scout Tee by Grainline Studios, but less boxy with the addition of darts.

Made By Rae, Beatrix TopDon’t you love the shape of the shirttail hem?

The button placket on the back adds a lot of interest, and can be made in a contrast fabric. It’s also surprisingly simple to put together.

Made By Rae, Beatrix TopFor the double gauze version, I used little hand painted wooden buttons that my (crazily thoughtful) husband gave me for my birthday.  They’re just perfect, don’t you think?

The fit is very forgiving for those of us who have a thicker post baby mid-section, which is always a relief 🙂

Made By Rae, Beatrix TopAnother nice thing about this pattern is that you don’t need to unbutton it to pull it on and off over your head.  I’m thinking of making one with the back in one piece, much like the Scout Tee, but with a better fit.

Made By Rae, Beatrix TopI was a good citizen and made a muslin.  I ended up with a medium, without any adjustments.  The voile version behaved just as the muslin did, and I left the sizing as is.

But the double gauze Beatrix turned out to be wildly larger than the voile in the width. It’s crazy how different fabrics behave!  I took that one in quite a bit on the sides, and could probably stand to take in a bit more.

Another thing I noticed with the double gauze is that, despite diligent use of interfacing, the placket very quickly looks a bit pulled at the buttons — even though it’s not tight at all. A possible solution might be to sew the placket pieces together down the center back together so the buttons are actually not functional.  What do you think?

Made By Rae, Beatrix TopOk, that wasn’t too painful.  I’ll be back soon with more of me!!!

3 responses

  1. I had the same issue with my double gauze one; I think I just need to make point of always going down a size in double gauze?? Anyway, I think it would be fine to just stitch down the placket. Sorta makes you want to cry after all that buttonhole work though, doesn’t it?? 🙂

    Love these!!!

  2. You look fabulous and now I see (a) where your children got their red hair and freckles! and possibly their love of orange, and (b) that you and I are likely distant cousins. You are my fair skinned freckled people! This top looks fantastic on you.

    • Aw, gee thanks! Admittedly, the salon helps out with my hair color — when I can get myself over there 😉 But my daughter Kiki got the real deal, lucky child! As for the fair skin and freckles, do you have the same love/hate with sunblock that I do? Why does it have to be so icky??

Leave a Reply

